Saying THANK YOU and GOOD BYE to the 2016-2017 Impact Foundation Board

Submitted by Megan Ambrose, YSEF 

York Suburban Education Foundation extends a resounding THANK YOU to the students of the Impact Foundation (IF) board for the 2016-2017 school year. YSEF’s Impact Foundation student committee is focused on continuing York Suburban’s commitment toward educational excellence by educating and engaging students in meeting the needs of their own school community through philanthropic compassion. The IF student committee completed building six Impact Closets, one in each YS school,  by December 2016.

They then wrote and were awarded a $2,000 grant from the National School Superintendents Association to support their mission of filling the closets. The grant was supplemented by collection drives held in collaboration with the PTOs, Student Councils, and Dollars for Scholars Battle of the Buildings event to stock the closets so that YS students in need can access school supplies, clothing, hygiene products, and food. To date, they have gathered over 3000 items.

The IF students have made a tremendous impact, and their hard work has paved the way for the continuing success of the Impact Foundation in the coming years. Please join us in wishing them well in their future endeavors. Together with the YS community, YSEF wishes all the best to these YS Class of 2017 graduates who are members of the Impact Foundation board:

Zach Weinstein (President)

Matt Baquero (Vice President)

Collin Slenker (Treasurer/Secretary)

Lucy Cook

Emily Englar

Parker Faircloth-Henise

David Ilayan

Jack Schultz

Ethan Staub

Peter Wagner

Sahara Wilt

Carl Young.

Video:   YSEF Impact Foundation  Highlights 2017

We know that these students will go on to do great things!