Third Annual Turkey Pardons

Submitted by Sonia Guyer

In November, the authors in Mrs. Guyer’s English Language Arts class at Indian Rock Elementary once again assumed the personas of turkeys in search of a pardon from the Thanksgiving table. After researching the annual White House tradition of the turkey pardon, the students wrote persuasive letters to “President” Gulley in hopes of being selected for survival. After careful consideration, the official pardon was awarded to General Turkey de Turkeyton (Miles Cope), with the alternate given to Bertha (Emma Ehrlich). The finalist turkeys included Rocky (Hailey Hogan), Mr. Turkey (Riley Krantz), Kentucky Fried Turkey (Max Brown), Very Anonymous Turkey (Isabel Sarsfield), Not Your Thanksgiving Turkey (Sasha Wallace), Gobbles (Grace Connolly), and Gobbly B. the Turkish Turkey (William Cashour).